RAID 6 Data Recovery Services

Standard RAID (redundant array of independent disks) levels comprise a basic set of RAID configurations that employ either striping, mirroring, or parity to create large reliable data stores from multiple general-purpose computer hard disk drives (HDDs).

RAID 6 is similar to RAID 5 but the parity data is written to two drives rather than one. That means it requires at least 4 drives and can withstand 2 drives dying simultaneously thus adding another layer of redundancy and reliability.

Like RAID 5, RAID 6 uses parity instead of mirroring for data redundancy. In the case of RAID 6 is utilizes two parity stripes on each disk. It allows for two disk failures within the RAID set before any data is lost. This configuration offers very high fault- and drive-failure tolerance and is most often used for environments that need long data retention periods such as archiving.

Because RAID 6 requires each set of parities to be calculated separately, this slows write performance. Implementing RAID 6 is also more expensive because of the two extra disks required for parity. Although RAID 6 is able to overcome a 2 concurrent drive failures, once failed, they need to be rebuilt or replaced immediately. Like Raid 5, if another disk happens to fail or a RAID controller malfunctions, then data recovery is the only option to prevent permanent loss of data.

RAID 6 Failures

While the RAID 6 configuration can provide better protection against and recovery from hardware defects or defective sectors/read errors (hard errors), it does not provide any protection against data loss due to catastrophic failures (fire, water), multiple disc failures, user error, software malfunction, or malware infection. For valuable data, RAID is only one building block of a larger data loss prevention and recovery scheme – it cannot replace a backup plan.

Raid Server Levels

Raid Hardware Types

  • HDD
  • SSD
  • NAND Flash
  • SAS
  • SCSI
  • iSCSI
  • eSATA
  • PCI
  • PCIE

Raid Makes & Media

  • All HP ProLiant, LeftHand and 3PAR Serie
  • All Dell PowerEdge, PowerVault, EqualLogic, and Compellent Series
  • IBM xSeries, Power Series (AIX, Linux) and storage subsystems
  • Supermicro server and storage subsystems
  • All Intel and AMD product lines
  • SAN– and NAS-based RAIDs and standalone storage systems
  • EMC and NetApp product lines