RAID 60 Data Recovery Services

Standard RAID (redundant array of independent disks) levels comprise a basic set of RAID configurations that employ either striping, mirroring, or parity to create large reliable data stores from multiple general-purpose computer hard disk drives (HDDs).

RAID 60 (also known as RAID 6+0) is a nested or “hybrid” RAID configuration that provides the distributed double parity of RAID 6 with the straight block-level striping of RAID 0. As a RAID 0 array striped across RAID 6 elements, minimal RAID 60 configuration requires eight drives.

Like RAID 50, RAID 60 (6+0) is a multi-level disk set. It is basically RAID 6 sets that are aggregated at a higher level into a RAID 0 array. A RAID set offers redundancy and can withstand the loss of up to two disks in each parity set.

From a pure reliability perspective, a RAID 60 array is reliable than RAID 50 arrays due largely to the extra parity disk employed in RAID 60. However, as soon as you lose more than two disks in a single parity set, the RAID 0 set breaks, and the only real option is data recovery.

RAID 60 Failures

While the RAID 60 configuration can provide protection against and recovery from hardware defects or defective sectors/read errors (hard errors), it does not provide any protection against data loss due to catastrophic failures (fire, water), multiple disc failures, user error, software malfunction, or malware infection. For valuable data, RAID is only one building block of a larger data loss prevention and recovery scheme – it cannot replace a backup plan.

Raid Server Levels

Raid Hardware Types

  • HDD
  • SSD
  • NAND Flash
  • SAS
  • SCSI
  • iSCSI
  • eSATA
  • PCI
  • PCIE

Raid Makes & Media

  • All HP ProLiant, LeftHand and 3PAR Serie
  • All Dell PowerEdge, PowerVault, EqualLogic, and Compellent Series
  • IBM xSeries, Power Series (AIX, Linux) and storage subsystems
  • Supermicro server and storage subsystems
  • All Intel and AMD product lines
  • SAN– and NAS-based RAIDs and standalone storage systems
  • EMC and NetApp product lines