RAID 5 Data Recovery Services

Standard RAID (redundant array of independent disks) levels comprise a basic set of RAID configurations that employ either striping, mirroring, or parity to create large reliable data stores from multiple general-purpose computer hard disk drives (HDDs).

RAID 5 is one of the most popular RAID configurations primarily due to its use of disk striping (storing consecutive segments of data across different storage devices) combined with parity. This provides RAID 5 with redundancy and reliability.

For data redundancy, RAID 5 used parity instead of mirroring. When data is written to a RAID 5 drive, the system calculates parity and writes that parity into the drive. While mirroring maintains multiple copies of data in each volume to use in case of failure, RAID 5 can rebuild a failed drive using the parity data, which is not kept on a fixed single drive.

Although RAID 5 is able to overcome a single failed drive, once it has failed, it needs to be rebuilt or replaced immediately. If another disk happens to fail or a RAID controller malfunctions, then data recovery is the only option to prevent permanent loss of data.

RAID 5 Failures

While the RAID 5 configuration can provide some protection against and recovery from hardware defects or defective sectors/read errors (hard errors), it does not provide any protection against data loss due to catastrophic failures (fire, water), multiple disc failures, user error, software malfunction, or malware infection. For valuable data, RAID is only one building block of a larger data loss prevention and recovery scheme – it cannot replace a backup plan.

Raid Server Levels

Raid Hardware Types

  • HDD
  • SSD
  • NAND Flash
  • SAS
  • SCSI
  • iSCSI
  • eSATA
  • PCI
  • PCIE

Raid Makes & Media

  • All HP ProLiant, LeftHand and 3PAR Serie
  • All Dell PowerEdge, PowerVault, EqualLogic, and Compellent Series
  • IBM xSeries, Power Series (AIX, Linux) and storage subsystems
  • Supermicro server and storage subsystems
  • All Intel and AMD product lines
  • SAN– and NAS-based RAIDs and standalone storage systems
  • EMC and NetApp product lines