RAID 1 Data Recovery Services

Standard RAID (redundant array of independent disks) levels comprise a basic set of RAID configurations that employ either striping, mirroring, or parity to create large reliable data stores from multiple general-purpose computer hard disk drives (HDDs).

RAID 1 offers a bit more data security than RAID 0 because it utilizes mirroring (or replicating) data from one disk to another. This at least provides this RAID configuration a measure of redundancy, assuming the failed drive is replaced immediately.

A classic RAID 1 configuration consists of an exact copy (or mirror) of a set of data on two disks. This configuration offers no parity, striping, or spanning of disk space across multiple disks, since the data is mirrored on all disks belonging to the array. This layout is useful when read performance or reliability is more important than write performance or the resulting data storage capacity.

RAID 1 is “effectively” fail-safe since a complete copy of the data is mirrored on the other drive in the array. If one disk fails, here is no complete loss of data. This assume that the failed disk is replaced prior to failure of the disk that is operational.

RAID 1 Failures

Because RAID 1 configurations have, essentially, 2 exact copy drives, there is some protection against and recovery from hardware defects or defective sectors/read errors (hard errors). It does not provide any protection against data loss due to catastrophic failures (fire, water), multiple disc failures, user error, software malfunction, or malware infection. For valuable data – it cannot replace a backup plan.

Raid Server Levels

Raid Hardware Types

  • HDD
  • SSD
  • NAND Flash
  • SAS
  • SCSI
  • iSCSI
  • eSATA
  • PCI
  • PCIE

Raid Makes & Media

  • All HP ProLiant, LeftHand and 3PAR Serie
  • All Dell PowerEdge, PowerVault, EqualLogic, and Compellent Series
  • IBM xSeries, Power Series (AIX, Linux) and storage subsystems
  • Supermicro server and storage subsystems
  • All Intel and AMD product lines
  • SAN– and NAS-based RAIDs and standalone storage systems
  • EMC and NetApp product lines