RAID 10 Data Recovery Services

Standard RAID (redundant array of independent disks) levels comprise a basic set of RAID configurations that employ either striping, mirroring, or parity to create large reliable data stores from multiple general-purpose computer hard disk drives (HDDs).

RAID 10 (also known as RAID 1+0) is a nested or “hybrid” RAID configuration that provides the redundancy of RAID 1 (mirroring) with the read/write speeds of RAID 0 (striping).

Since RAID 10 provides both redundancy and performance, it is a great option for I/O-intensive applications including email & web servers, databases and operations that require high disk performance. It requires a minimum of four disks, and stripes data across mirrored pairs.

As long as one disk in each mirrored pair is functional, data can be retrieved. If two disks in the same mirrored pair fail, all data will be lost because there is no parity in the striped sets. In this case, data recovery is the only option to prevent permanent loss of data.

RAID 10 Failures

While the RAID 10 configuration can provide protection against and recovery from hardware defects or defective sectors/read errors (hard errors), it does not provide any protection against data loss due to catastrophic failures (fire, water), multiple disc failures, user error, software malfunction, or malware infection. For valuable data, RAID is only one building block of a larger data loss prevention and recovery scheme – it cannot replace a backup plan.

Raid Server Levels

Raid Hardware Types

  • HDD
  • SSD
  • NAND Flash
  • SAS
  • SCSI
  • iSCSI
  • eSATA
  • PCI
  • PCIE

Raid Makes & Media

  • All HP ProLiant, LeftHand and 3PAR Serie
  • All Dell PowerEdge, PowerVault, EqualLogic, and Compellent Series
  • IBM xSeries, Power Series (AIX, Linux) and storage subsystems
  • Supermicro server and storage subsystems
  • All Intel and AMD product lines
  • SAN– and NAS-based RAIDs and standalone storage systems
  • EMC and NetApp product lines