RAID 0 Data Recovery Services

Standard RAID (redundant array of independent disks) levels comprise a basic set of RAID configurations that employ either striping, mirroring, or parity to create large reliable data stores from multiple general-purpose computer hard disk drives (HDDs).

RAID 0 is useful because of it’s low cost and overhead. It is common among home users and often uses two hard drives. However, RAID 0 is not fault-tolerant. If one drive fails, all data in the array is lost. RAID 0 is best used for storage that is noncritical but requires high-speed reads and writes.

RAID 0 splits (“stripes”) data evenly across two or more hard drives without parity information, redundancy, or fault tolerance. This makes is a fairly simple system to set up. However, because RAID 0 provides no fault tolerance or redundancy, the failure of one drive will cause the entire array to fail since data is striped across all disks. The main reason a RAID 0 configuration is typically implemented is because of speed and performance. Caching live streaming video and video editing are common uses for RAID 0 due to speed and performance.

Since RAID 0 does not use data redundancy, the failure of any physical drive in the striped disk set results in the loss of the data on the striped unit and, consequently, the loss of the entire data set stored across the set of striped hard disks. In such a case data recovery is the only option to prevent permanent loss of data.

RAID 0 Failures

As mentioned previously, because RAID 0 configurations have no type of redundancy built in, it provides virtually no protection against and recovery from hardware defects or defective sectors/read errors (hard errors). It does not provide any protection against data loss due to catastrophic failures (fire, water), multiple disc failures, user error, software malfunction, or malware infection. For valuable data – it cannot replace a backup plan.

Raid Server Levels

Raid Hardware Types

  • HDD
  • SSD
  • NAND Flash
  • SAS
  • SCSI
  • iSCSI
  • eSATA
  • PCI
  • PCIE

Raid Makes & Media

  • All HP ProLiant, LeftHand and 3PAR Serie
  • All Dell PowerEdge, PowerVault, EqualLogic, and Compellent Series
  • IBM xSeries, Power Series (AIX, Linux) and storage subsystems
  • Supermicro server and storage subsystems
  • All Intel and AMD product lines
  • SAN– and NAS-based RAIDs and standalone storage systems
  • EMC and NetApp product lines